Qualified Water Efficient Landscaper Program

New QWEL logo

2020 Aspen WaterSense Award Press Release  Opens in new window

  1. About QWEL
  2. QWEL Certification
  3. Class Schedule
  4. QWEL Newsletters
  5. QWEL Supporters

QWEL in Aspen

The City of Aspen is a Professional Certifying Organization (PCO) for the Qualified Water Efficient Landscaper Program. Aspen became a PCO in 2018 in order to provide local landscape professionals with a free training course to become certified third party water auditors as specified in Aspen’s Water Efficient Landscaping Standards.

The Qualified Water Efficient Landscaper program is an affordable, local training providing landscape professionals with 20+ hours of education on principles of proper plant selection for the local climate, irrigation system design and maintenance, and irrigation system programming and operation. QWEL is an EPA WaterSense labeled Professional Certification Program for Irrigation System Audits.

COVID-19 Landscape Rules 

As of April 23, 2020 you may return to your landscape jobs in Aspen; however, you must adhere to Pitkin County Public Health rules.

English Version:

 (https://cityofaspen.com/DocumentCenter/View/5826/Pitkin-County-Landscaping-COVID-19-Business-Safety-Plan)

Spanish Version:

(https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HI8C_j3zk5TRk-W8IlDgWxIM6wy8B3Bh/view?usp=sharing)


QWEL landscape audit

Are you interested in renovating an existing landscape or creating a new yard?

Trained in water-wise landscape practices including soil selection, irrigation system design and water management, a QWEL professional will help meet your landscape needs while keeping your outdoor water use in check. QWEL professionals are third party Certified Landscape Irrigation Auditors and will assist homeowners, developers, and design professionals in meeting the irrigation audit requirements of Aspen’s Landscape Ordinance.

Note: Some individuals who earned a QWEL certificate may not appear on this list due to their publication selection.

Nick Calderone Escape Garden Design Residential, Residential Development, Commercialcalderonenick@gmail.com970-920-3700
Tom Friel Roaring Fork Landscapes, Inc. Residential, Residential Development, Commercial      Tomfriel@roaringforklandscapes.com970-309-4578
Bob Howey Irrigation Analysis Residential Development, CommercialBhowey@Irrigationanalysis.com303-726-1952
Catherine Markle Alpine Design & Planning, Inc.   Residential, Residential Development, Commercialalpinedp@comcast.net970-379-3996
Doug Smith Irrigation Analysis CommercialDsmith@Irrigationanalysis.com303-471-7377
John Steuble Grand Junction Pipe & SupplyResidential, Residential Development, Commercialjohn.steuble@gjpipe.com970-243-4604
Kevin Tucker Escape Garden Design   Residentialkevin@escapegardendesign.com970-920-3700

Shawn Bailey
Premier LandworksResidential, Residential Development, Commercialsbturfman@gmail.com970-319-7575

Rachel Bechhoefer
Sundew Design, LLC.Residential, Residential Developmentsundewdesign@gmail.com303-903-1816
Neil ReillySundew Design, LLC.Residential, Residential Development, Commercialsundewdesign@gmail.com303-903-1816

Michael Pagan
Aspen Grove Property ServicesResidential, Residential Development, Commercialmike@aspengrovepropertyservices.com970-279-5530

Sean Solon
Fitzgerald LandscapingResidential, Residential Developmentinfo@fitzgeraldlandscaping.com970-920-3005

Jeff McMahan
Fitzgerald LandscapingResidential, Residential Development, Commercialinfo@fitzgeraldlandscaping.com970-920-3003

Brandi Rice
Norris Design Commercialbrice@norris-design.com970-368-7068

William Howell
Aspen Tree Service, Inc.Residential, Residential Developmentbill@myaspentree.com970-420-0796

Ryan Smith
GreenSmith, LLC.Residential, Residential Development, Commercialryanwaynesmith@gmail.com970-987-1436

Nad Luchetta
Busy Beaver GardeningResidential, Residential Developmentslowida@yahoo.com970-309-6450
Demetrios HassosAlpine Sprinkler RepairResidential, Residential Development, Commercialalpinesprinklerrepair@yahoo.com970-927-8700
Ed PriceHines Inc.Residential, Residential Development, Commercialed@hinesinc.com,matt@hinesinc.com, nate@hinesinc.com970-282-1800
Travis GreenGreen LandscapesResidential, Residential Development, Commercialgreenlandscapesllc@gmail.com970-319-8696
Chris PreuschUte City Landworks, Inc.ResidentialUtecitylandworks@hughes.net970-923-5157
Tiffany ChinSpoonful of ManukaResidential, Residential Development, Commercialtl808c@gmail.com
Britni JohnsonStan Clauson AssociatesResidential, Residential Development, Commercialbritni@scaplanning.com970-925-2323
Joshua BorgmannHines Inc.Residential, Residential Development, Commercialjosh@hinesinc.com970-818-1373
Rick MoreyR2 Systems, LLCResidential, Residential Development, Commercialrickmorey@gmail.com970-640-3951

Bryan Becker
Nordic Gardens Landscape Company
Residential, Residential Development, Commercial
accounting@nordicgardens.co
970-963-3023
John Washburn
Nordic Gardens Landscape Company
Residential, Residential Development, Commercial
accounting@nordicgardens.co
970-963-3023


Contact Us

Lee winter closeup

Lee Ledesma

Utilities Finance & Administrative Manager

lee.ledesma@cityofaspen.com

970-429-1975